Loafmeat- vegan style!

26 09 2010

2 stalks celery (chopped)
1/2 onion (chopped)
3 cloves garlic (minced)
10 oz firm tofu
1/4 walnuts (chopped)
12 oz meatless crumbles
1 1/4 cups of fast cook oats
3 tbsp. soy sauce
2 tbsp ketchup
1 tbsp dijon mustard
3 tsp. dried parsley
3 tsp. herbs of provence
1 tsp. penzy’s breakfast sausage seasoning
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp. penzy’s greek seasoning

Preheat oven to 375. Throw the celery, garlic, and onion into a food processor (I use my mini) and pulse the hell out of them until they are chopped up. Throw into a pan and saute in just a smidge of oil until tender (about 4 min). Remove from the flame and let cool. Mash the tofu in a bowl (I use my kitchenaid) and stir in the cooked veggies, along with the rest of the ingredients (I chop my nuts in my food processor too). I throw it all into my kitchenaid and let mix for 2 min on speed 2 or until well combined. Smoosh into a loaf pan and spread a nice layer of ketchup on top before baking for 55 min or until toothpick comes out clean.

This is based off the recipe in the engine 2 diet, but adapted slightly to our taste. This is so good, despite the seemingly odd mix of spices, that even my meat-loving father loved the way it tasted. it’s also super, super filling! and tastes almost better cold the next day!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

