Corn tortillas

4 02 2009

i love mexican food.  i mean, i love it so much that taco bell was my “last supper” before i started this whole ordeal.  and tortillas have always been a staple in my fridge.  unfortunately, most of them are gluten, gluten, gluten.  so last night, much to my delight, i found corn tortillas in the supermarket that were made out of nothing but corn, salt, and water.  thrown on the gas burner to blacken a little bit, they were delicious.  they were especially delicious when topped with salsa, a little bit of leftover chicken, and some pancetta that we had made.  of course, while they were cheaper to buy than some of the normal flour tortillas, they still weren’t cheap.  this lead me to wondering about how to make my own.  thanks to a link i saw on a facebook group for gluten-free recipes, i found this video on youtube:

a little research also lead to this recipe (CLICK).  i plan on trying this over the upcoming weekend, but before i do…

anyone else have some suggestions or recipes they have perfected?

Actions

Information

3 responses

7 02 2009
Ms Anne

green salsa chicken enchilada recipe I love. Totally simple and delicious.

http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/chicken-enchiladas-with-creamy-green-sauce

you can totally omit the sour cream while you’re dairy free and be happy.

I have a salsa I love, too – but I can’t remember the name of it, I only know what the packaging looks like…..When I figure out the name, I’ll let you know.

7 02 2009
Heather

Yum!!!!! Thanks hot stuff!

15 02 2009
ctvtannie

here’s that salsa we love – it’s the roasted tomatillo one:

http://www.sbsalsa.com/indexprod.html

Leave a Reply

